My Shopping List

Today is the first day of my fiscal month. I only get paid once a month on the 15th, so I have to budget carefully to last through the month. I’m not too worried about this next month as I’m not spending as much as I usually do. Since I’m getting paid today, I get to got through my shopping list and decide what to buy.

Ever since the start of the project I’ve been keeping a list of things I feel I ‘need’ to buy. I had the brilliant idea of holding off on buying these things until the beginning of my fiscal month in order to give myself time to evaluate the true ‘need’ of said items. Here’s my current list with items crossed out that I’m not going to get after all:

  • Post-It Notes
  • Electric kettle
  • Tupperware
  • Shea Oil
  • Faucet-mount water filter
  • Dish brush
  • Brush for cleaning laptop
  • Tub stopper
  • Sharpie pen
  • Paper for my printer
  • Findings for jewelry making

My roommate is going to split the cost of the filter and Tupperware with me since they’re house needs. Other items fall under “work” – sharpie pen, paper, brush, post-its – and “Toiletries”. The one item that isn’t obviously necessary is the electric kettle. I have that on the list for cooking purposes – it’s good for more than boiling water. And it’s incredibly helpful when making risotto, which means I’ll stay away from my favorite risotto restaurant. My next step is to look on Freecycle and Craigslist to see if I can get it for nothing.

Last fiscal month we bought a much-needed stand for the microwave we’re getting sometime soon (hopefully for free) and I bought a book about Stretching. Sadly, that last purchase was a complete cheat. The library didn’t have any copies and I couldn’t find the information I wanted online. 15 days in and already I’m being a bad girl.

At any rate, the Shopping List is the best idea I’ve had on this project so far. By restricting my ‘need’ buying to one time during the month I can curb impulses. I may even continue this once the year is over.

Leave a comment

Filed under Allowed / Not Allowed, General

Leave a Reply

